WIP – Medallion Quilt

A couple weeks ago, I came home from vacation to find a book I’d put on hold at the library was waiting for me:  A Quilter’s Mixology by Angela Pingel.  It’s gotten great reviews and I was excited that my small local library had a copy.

I’ve been wanting to try curved piecing and as a “modern traditionalist”, I was eager to see what Angela could do with just one block:  Drunkard’s Path.  I was not disappointed.  There are 16 projects in this book and I counted at least 4 that I wanted to do right away.  I will definitely be buying my own copy of this book.

I’m starting with the Medallion Baby Quilt.  The thing that caught my eye right away was the fabric Angela choose:  Katie Jump Rope, one of my all time favorite lines.  I have only scraps of it left and I’m hoarding it, ha!  But I also love the simplicity and symmetry of the quilt and decided to make it first.

I photo copied the templates (included full size!) and glued them to cardboard ripped off the back of last year’s school notebooks.  I pulled out some bird fabrics that had been languishing in my stash and found coordinating prints.

It took about an hour to cut out the fabric.  One thing I noticed is that the book is very generous when it states how much fabric is needed.  For example, on this Medallion quilt, it says you need a yard of the fabric for the middle rings.  I only needed about 22″, or a little less than 2/3 of a yard.  Not a big deal, but it’s helpful to know if you are trying to use what you have and you don’t have a full yard.

I spent about 3? hours piecing.  I tried to keep track, but was interrupted several times by my darling squabbling children.  This was one of the first times I’ve done curved piecing for a quilt.  I’ve done some while sewing clothes, so it wasn’t totally new to me.  I’ve heard there are many ways to sew curves like these, and the way I found works best for me is a 2-pin method.

I fold each piece to find the center of the curve and pin.  Then I match up and pin the tail end of the curve.  I pinch together the two pieces at the top of the curve, with the L shaped piece on top and slide them under my scant  1/4″ foot.  I sew a few stitches, the ease the two curves together, using my fingers to hold them in place and sew to the center pin in one smooth motion.  The I do the same for the bottom half, using an awl to guide the last bit of the fabric under the foot it doesn’t slide away.

Then I put all the blocks into rows and the rows together into a quilt top.

I’m not planning to quilt this right away.  I’m going to be taking a class on free-motion quilting next month and want to practice before I tackle this project.  So I’ve pulled fabric for another quilt from the book, the Nine Patch Curves.

I can’t wait to see how this one turns out!

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments on “WIP – Medallion Quilt”

  1. I’ll admit, I’ve never really liked drunkard’s path. But with your medallion, and the biggish blocks, it looks fantastic. I’m glad you tried it and described the method you used for stitching. Thanks.

  2. Wow! This looks so cool. I love it.

  3. ghrn says:

    this is wonderful!!!

  4. Terri Faust says:

    I really like the layout you chose for your blocks. Looks great!

  5. Lana says:

    Great job…and a great tip!


Leave a Reply

